Five Ways To Practice Freedom

Because freedom takes practice

Ifie Natasha Brandon
4 min readMar 13, 2024

When I was on a journey of finding myself a few years ago, I began “practicing freedom” out of a desire to make big leaps and authentic decisions. “I want to be free,” is what I told my therapist when she asked me what I wanted her help with.

With therapy and practice, I started to take advantage of little moments of freedom so I could build the muscle of being free. I didn’t know what it meant at the time or what I was really looking for but I knew that in order to feel free, I had to start practicing.

It started with little self dates to the park. My norm was to feel unworthy of free time. I would feel guilty for going to the park on my own and enjoying the sunshine. I would feel like I hadn’t earned it or I’d feel as if there was something else I could be doing with that time. I slowly stopped listening to that voice and instead I started listening to the voice that said “Do it.” I talked less about what I was going to do, and I just started…doing it.

If we want to feel free in life, we have to create that freedom by making the decision to do the free thing.

And I want to specify here that freedom doesn’t mean lack of control. Freedom is about the power to choose and be content in your choices. Freedom is listening to your soul.

--

--

Ifie Natasha Brandon

Multi medium storyteller | Author | Yogi | Somewhere between Lauryn Hill, Nola Darling, & Jesus Christ