What Did Glennon Doyle Do Wrong?

Ifie Natasha Brandon
4 min readNov 5, 2018

I love Glennon Doyle. To be honest, I’ve only listened to her once on an episode of Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert and I haven’t read any of her books. To be more honest, I scroll right past her posts on social media because I get a little tired of the delicate speech certain white women use towards people — there’s nothing wrong with it, it’s just weird to me.

But the other night, I scrolled through my Instagram feed and saw that she created a post canceling a webinar and apologizing for what she did. I went to the caption to understand and I was immediately infuriated by what I read.

A few days ago Glennon Doyle posted that she was going to have a free webinar for white women who wanted to have safe conversations about their place in the race war. A few moments after she posted,women of color (mostly black women) began to comment that her use of the words “safe space” and “for white women” in the same sentence were insensitive and “racist”. The comments were brutal and my heart instantly went out to her.

Glennon Doyle is a part of a movement called Black Friday, a group run by women of color to foster race conversations across the spectrum. Glennon was asked by these…

--

--

Ifie Natasha Brandon

Multi medium storyteller | Author | Yogi | Somewhere between Lauryn Hill, Nola Darling, & Jesus Christ